chasing-peaks

· t14n's blog

I imagine it's really lonely being an olympic athelete, or any world class performer, for that matter. At least in the domain that you're world class in.

Rising to the top means that you have fewer and fewer people to share that experience with. Most people can't, nor do they want to, keep up with you.

I feel that way about academics, software engineering, etc. At least, during my undergrad years I've felt that I was looking beyond the horizon. The degree was always a formality, never the end goal.

Setting my sights beyond college made it hard for me to connect with other students most of the time. I had a plan, and I was going to execute on it.

I think it's valuable to meander a bit and take time to explore interests, reflect on goals, and course correct. But spending more than $20k a year to do that? Really?

Being driven doesn't mean you have to be an asshole about it. But it does mean that you can't compromise on how you spend your time and attention. To make time for whatever you want to be excellent in, you're going to have to say no to everything else. Even the things you know will be good experiences or opportunities.

For a long time I had the illusion that I could have a "balanced" life and do everything. Social life, health, academic and career success, and so on. But I'm not that talented. I have to work hard for every win I get, and I have to get extraordinarily lucky.

Most people are like me. I don't consider myself that "atypical." But most people find it hard to admit that they can't have it all.