good-and-evil

· t14n's blog

The line between good and evil cuts through every man's heart - Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

It seems as if we are living in tragic times. I need not talk about specific events. There are far too many tragedies happening right now for me to list. And as a result, the amount of suffering in the world is greate than what I've been familiar with during the first few decades of my life.

My soul aches for the people around the world.

This is not to detract from the suffering happening around me and in my life. I am acutely aware of the suffering around me too, but I also feel a sense of control and hope. At least I can take action to mitigate the suffering around me. But I have no actions to take to help those around the world experiencing what I imagine to be worse suffering than my own.

It pains me to see that much of this suffering is caused by mankind. I believe in freewill and autonomy. And so to see other humans make choices which strip other humans of their dignity and peace...It infuriates me.

I am angry. And I am despairing.

How can the same people be so kind, generous, and wise one year, then so destructive and brutal the next?

And the bigger question I want to answer: how can we change? How do we fix this? How do we find peace for the people who feel so broken, and will never be able to return to the lives they had before?

How?